Unite my heart

Psalms 86:11 Teach me Your way, O LORD; I will walk in Your truth; Unite my heart to fear Your name.

Unite My heart? What does this mean?

When a child unites their hands, their eyes and their mind they manage to catch a ball. However, distractions come their way and they miss the catching the ball.

When King David was writing about his heart, he was largely speaking about his soul. So, he was saying unite my thoughts, my emotions and my will which make up his soul.

King David prays “Teach me Your way, oh Lord.” Then, as if two thoughts from heaven come to him. He says, “I will walk in Your truth” and “Unite my heart to reverence You.” It is there that he found healing and wholeness for his inner man. Here is a truth for us.

Our prayer: Unite my thoughts, intentions and emotions to give correct reverence in my life to You. Then, I will follow Your purpose for my life and serve this generation as David served his!

Leave a Reply

